Why It Is Important to Abandon the Desire for Mukti

Srila Bhaktivinoda Thakura

(From "Bhakti Tattva Viveka" - click to read more from it.
You can also read the previous page: )

As it is imperative to abandon the desire for bhukti, it is equally important to abandon the desire for mukti.

There are some very deep principles and conceptions regarding mukti.

Five types of mukti are mentioned in the scriptures:

salokya-sarshti-samipya-sarupyaikatvam apy uta

diyamanam na grihnanti vina mat-sevanam janah

Srimad-Bhagavatam 3.29.13

Sri Kapiladeva said, “O My dear Mother! Despite being offered the five types of liberation known as salokya, sarshti, sarupya, samipya and ekatva, My pure devotees don’t accept them.

They only accept My transcendental loving service.”

Through salokya-mukti one attains residence in the abode of Bhagavan.

To obtain opulence equal to that of Bhagavan is called sarshti-mukti.

To attain a position in proximity to Bhagavan is called samipya-mukti.

To obtain a four-armed form like that of Bhagavan Visnu is called sarupya-mukti.

To attain sayujya-mukti (merging) is called ekatva.

This sayujya-mukti is of two kinds: brahma-sayujya and isvara-sayujya.

The cultivation of brahma-jnana or impersonal knowledge leads one to brahma-sayujya.

Also by following the method prescribed in the spiritual scriptures one attains brahma-sayujya.

By properly observing the Patanjali yoga system, one attains the liberation known as isvara-sayujya or merging into the Lord’s form.

For devotees both types of sayujya-mukti are worthy of rejection.

Those who desire to attain sayujya as the perfectional stage may also follow the process of bhakti, but their bhakti is temporary and fraudulent.

They don’t accept bhakti as an eternal occupation and merely consider it to be a means to attain brahma.

Their conception is that after attaining brahma, bhakti does not exist.

Therefore, the bhakti of a sincere devotee deteriorates in the association of such spiritualists.

Shuddha-bhakti never resides in the hearts of those who consider sayujya-mukti to be the ultimate perfection.

Regarding the other muktis, Srila Rupa Goswami explains (Bhakti-rasamrita-sindhu 1.2.55-57):

atra tyajyatayaivokta muktih panca-vidhapi cet

salokyadis tathapy atra bhaktya nati virudhyate

sukhaishvaryottara seyam prema-sevottarety api

salokyadir-dvidha tatra nadya sevajusham mata

kintu premaika-madhurya-jusha ekantino harau

naivangi kurvate jatu muktim panca-vidham api

Although the aforementioned five types of mukti are worthy of rejection by devotees, the four types of salokya, samipya, sarupya and sarshti are not completely adverse to bhakti.

According to the difference in a particular devotee’s eligibility to receive them, these four types of mukti assume two forms: sva-sukha-aishvarya pradanakari (that which bestows transcendental happiness and opulence) and prema-seva-pradanakari (that which bestows loving transcendental service unto Bhagavan).

Those who reach the Vaikuntha planets through these four types of liberation obtain the fruit of transcendental happiness and opulence.

Servitors or devotees of the Lord never accept such liberation under any circumstances, and the premi-bhaktas or loving devotees never accept any one of the five varieties of mukti.

Therefore, within pure unalloyed devotees the desire for liberation does not exist.

Thus to remain free from the desire for mukti is anyabhilashita-shunya, being devoid of any desire other than that to please Sri Krsna.

This is one of the tatastha-lakshana or marginal characteristics of bhakti.(from Part 1 – "The Intrinsic Nature of Devotion")

Another revelation, . Check out the previous page too: . You will benefit from reading the whole work: Bhakti Tattva Viveka.

And now listen to this sound >>

Harih Om Tat Sat.

Natural Brotherhood (Bhaktivinoda Thakura):

BhaktiVinoda Thakura

"Gradually, when the offensive portions of the established religions are destroyed, there will be no more differences in the bhajana performed by the various Sampradayas nor any quarrel between them.

Then as brothers, the people of all castes and countries will spontaneously chant the Holy Names of the Supreme Lord together.

At that time, no one will hate anyone or consider others dogeaters; nor will anyone be overwhelmed by the pride of high birth.

The living entities will not forget the principle of natural brotherhood."

Tell your friends about this spiritual site:

YOUR comments are very important for us!

8 Responses to “Why It Is Important to Abandon the Desire for Mukti”
  1. G.C.MAURYA says:

    How can be achieved this state in this world.

  2. G.C.MAURYA says:

    how one can obtain brotherhood.

  3. Dasa says:

    By complete surrender to Sri Caitanya and His teachings.

  4. Shuddha Bhakti says:

    Sri Bhaktivinoda Thakura writes in his Srimad-Gourangalila-Smaranamangal-Stotram:

    We must therefore cultivate Bhakti being always free from the 2 contending principles i. e. a desire for bhukti and a desire for mukti.
    We must depend on Krishna to give us mukti or not, as it pleases Him.

    The religion preached by Mahaprabhu is universal and not exclusive. The most learned and the most ignorant are both entitled to embrace it.

    The learned people will accept it with a knowledge of sambandha-tattwa as explained in the categories.

    The ignorant have the same privilege by simply uttering the name of the Deity and mixing in the company of pure Vaishnavas.

    The principle of kirtan invites, as the future church of the world, all classes of men without distinction of caste or clan to the highest cultivation of the spirit. This church it appears, will extend all over the world and take the place of all sectarian churches, which exclude outsiders from the precincts of the mosque, church or the temple.

  5. Gopal says:

    All glories to the Allmighty , such thing shall prevail only when all mutts stop building walls and fighting for their share of brick, rather involve in glorifying the holy names of the Lord without pride and ego.

  6. Umesh Patnaik says:

    What happened to jaya and bijaya after Brahma-sayujya?Did they went to vaikunth lok after going to shadashiva lok or back to material world or they are still there?Bcoz it was Lord’s will to send them outside vaikunth lok.

  7. Anonymous says:

    Sir, unfortunately nobody answers questions at this website at present.

  8. shreekant says:

    regarding umesh patnaik pr’s question — answer is given in srimad bhagwatam 7.1.47